Company workflow rules

The workflow engine is a rules-based system that automatically sends email notifications, creates tasks, or performs an action when specific, user-defined events occur. Workflow features are available for both the Files and Discussions, Databases, and Properties tabs. Workflows will trigger in the order of the displayed priority on your workflow list. See how to link your workflow rules.

Note: Workflows for Workspaces are configured at the Company Setup page. Company Admins are the only users that can create and edit Workflows for Workspaces.

 

Learn about:

Creating a Workflow Rule
Run Rule Now with Checked Nightly Workflow Rules
Workflow Priority
Deactivate Workflow Rules
Deleting Workflow Rules

Creating a Workflow rule

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Begin using workflow by creating a new rule. To create a new rule, navigate to the admin wheel and click Company Setup > Workflow > New Workflow Rule, then:

1. Name: Enter a name for the rule.

2. Type: Choose the type of rule: Email Notification, Task Creation, Task List Creation, Milestone Creation, Action, API Callback, or On Task List Completion.

3. Linking: Allows rule to be linked to other rules. Learn more about linked workflow rules.

4. Criteria: Select when the rule should be triggered and add criteria. Available options are when a record is:

  • Created/Added: Triggers when a workspace is created.
  • Modified: Triggers when a workspace property is changed.
  • Deleted: Triggers when a workspace is deleted
  • Checked Nightly: Workspace properties are monitored nightly to see if the rule's conditions are met. Checked nightly workflow rules also have the option to run now.
  • Additional Criteria: Triggers the rule based on the content of specific workspace property fields. All of the "Additional Criteria" must be met in order for the workflow rule to be triggered. For each Additional Criteria, there are two options:
    • "and is changed": This means that the field must have been changed to the inputted criteria when the Workspace properties were edited.
    • "and matches": This means that the field can simply "match" and is not required to have been changed in order to trigger the workflow rule.
Note: The next steps apply to Email Notification and Task Creation workflow rules. For Action type rules please scroll down.

 

5. Select the designated roles or specific email addresses to notify base on the workflow conditions:

5.b. (For Milestone rules only) Add a Milestone Name Template and Start Date and choose whether you want the milestone to be Internal User Only or Not.

6. (For Task rules only) Add specific roles to the Task CC list (optional).

7. The subject and body of email notifications can be customized. To insert a variable, select it from the "Insert Variable" drop-down menu. Set the cursor in the subject or message body where you want to put the variable, then click the Insert button.

8. The due date of the task created by the workflow rule (applies to rules that create tasks, only) can also be customized.

9. Action Worfklow rule: Create the "action" you want the rule to perform based on your criteria.

Action Workflow for Workspaces

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Checked nightly workflow rules

Any workflow rule that has the Checked Nightly criteria will have an additional option to be triggered immediately. When viewing a "Checked Nightly" rule from the workflow list, a Run Rule Now icon will appear. Clicking on this button will fire the rule on-demand and trigger any e-mails, tasks, or actions designated by the rule.

Action Workflow for Workspaces

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Workflow Priority

To utilize workflow priority you must have two or more workflow rules' set up which have the same rule type and trigger the same type of action. Once this is set up, you can number each of these workflow rules, which will then assign them a priority based on chronological order. Once you have selected a priority for each workflow rule you can then Click>Update Priority to have this priority list take effect.

Workflow Rule Priority

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Deactivating Workflow Rules

Workflow rules can be made inactive by simply editing the rule and selecting the Inactive radio button.

Deactivate Workflow Rules

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Deleting Workflow Rules

Workflow rules can be deleted by clicking the 'trash can' icon within the 'Company Setup - Workflow' page.

Delete Workflow Rules
Was this article helpful?       
0 out of 0 found this helpful


Have more questions? Submit a request