Managing external member permissions

Note: Only company administrators can access the External Members tab.


Access the External Member list by navigating to the company admin menu (gear icon in top right) and select Company Setup > External Members > Workspace Permissions

External Member Page

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Unlike internal users, external users have limited capabilities when accessing workspaces. External member permissions are configured per workspace. The number of workspaces each member is a part of will appear under the Workspace Permissions section as a link. Clicking on the link corresponding to a user will bring you to their workspace permissions page. This is where you can access and modify permissions for each workspaces they are a part of. Select the check boxes next to multiple workspaces to bulk add or edit the external user's permissions.

External Member Page

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The permissions that are granted here are:

  • Observer: Users that are made Observers are invisible in the workspace, but will still be able to access it.
  • Read: This allows members to read and view all data within the workspace. Removing this permission prevents a member from having access to any data within the workspace. Users with the "read" permission are also able to download content and make comments on content/data in the workspace.
  • Download: This allows members to download local copies of uploaded files in the workspace.
  • Edit: This allows members to edit and move discussions, online docs, spreadsheets, and uploaded files. Removing this permission prevents a member from editing or moving any content within the workspace.
  • Add: This allows members to add data to the workspace in the form of discussions, online docs, spreadsheets, and uploaded files. Removing this permission prevents a member from adding data within the workspace.
  • Delete: This allows members to delete data in the workspace in the form of discussions, online docs, spreadsheets, and uploaded files. Removing this permission prevents a member from deleting any data within the workspace.
  • List Admin: This allows members to subscribe (notify) other members to new and existing discussions, online docs, spreadsheets, and uploaded files. Removing this permission prevents a member from subscribing others to such documents from within the workspace.
  • Workspace Admin: This allows members the ability to Invite New External, and Existing Internal Members to the Workspace, access to the Settings tab of the workspace, and access to the Permissions tab within the People tab.

Learn more about managing permissions 

 

Was this article helpful?       
6 out of 6 found this helpful


Have more questions? Submit a request