iMeet® Central phone and live chat support will be unavailable on Monday, July 3rd, and Tuesday, July 4th, in honor of Independence Day.
Please submit all tickets via the portal or email us at support@imeetcentral.com. All tickets will be answered in order of priority on Wednesday, July 5th, at 7am PST.

Interacting with Files via Web Folders

WebFolders Recommendations:
  • iMeet® Central recommends using a third party program such as Cyberduck or Webdrive for the best web folders experience. Companies such as Microsoft and Apple are no longer developing their native webfolders applications unlike third party developers. 

Now that you have set up your Web Folder Connection, it is time to take advantage of working with the files natively on your desktop. When you access a file from your Web Folder drive, it will automatically be locked in iMeet Central, so Workspace members will be aware of the editing process that is taking place.

Locking and unlocking files via web folders

Locking a file via Web Folders is as simple as navigating to your Networked Drive and double clicking on the file.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Note: Files opened using Web Folders will remain locked for 15 minutes only

 

In this example the file Proposal Information will be downloaded to the computer and opened in its native application, Microsoft Word. If no one is working on the file at this time, the user will lock the file from the workspace and will be able to edit and save the file. Any changes made will be reflected in the proper workspace folder. However, if another member has locked the file, the user will receive a File in Use message.

file in use

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

From here the user can choose the following options: Open a Read Only copy, Create a local copy and merge your changes later, or Receive notification when the original copy is available.

Open a read only copy

Selecting to open a read-only copy will allow the user to read the content of the file, but it will not allow saves to be made that could override the locked file. If a user does attempt to save the file, they will receive a message indicating that the file could not be saved and that the user will need to choose a new file name under Save As. This will allow the user to save the file under the new name and then upload it as a separate file to the workspace.

Create a local copy and merge your changes later

Selecting to merge your changes later will allow the user to open the file, while waiting for a prompt that the file is unlocked. When the user opens the file in this manner, they will see a message indicating that the file is still locked for editing.

merge changes later

The user can continue to work on and edit the file, but they will not be able to save the changes until they are notified that the file is no longer in use. When the file has been "unlocked", the user will be notified with the following message.

available for editing

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Selecting to merge the document will open a new file with track changes enabled. The user will then see their document along with the changes made by the previous user. Edits can be made here based on the new changes, and then the user can save the file, unlocking it for others to edit in the workspace.

Receive notification when the original copy is available

Selecting to receive a notification when the document is available will allow the system to prompt the user when the other user has finished editing, and has unlocked, the file. A file now available notification will appear on the screen informing the user that the document is ready for read-write status.

file available for editing

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 


At this point the user can open the document with full read-write capabilities. When the user saves the document and closes it, they will automatically unlock the file in the workspace.

Downloading and uploading files via web folders

Because users are viewing their files and folders natively on their desktop, Web Folders makes it easy to download files to the user's computer and to upload files to the Workspace.

Downloading Files

Users can download files from their Web Folder by a simple drag and drop to the desktop or any folder location.

drag and drop web folders

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The user will now have their own copy of the file located on their computer. This will allow the user to work on and edit the document separate from the workspace. However, the user will need to be careful about saving this file back to the workspace. Because it is now independent from the workspace, any saving of the file back to the Web Folder could overwrite and replace the file currently in the workspace. Changing the file name to reflect the changes is a way to account for different types of files in the workspace, or choosing to replace the file will keep a proper version history.

Uploading Files

Uploading files can be done with the drag and drop method referenced above, or it can be done by saving a file to the folder location within the Web Folder.

save file to folders

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

In the above example, on clicking Save, the file will be saved to the folder named Web Folder Items, inside the pasadenaparks workspace.

Note: The following symbols are not supported in file names: # % & * : < > ? / \ { | } . This is in line with Windows naming conventions.


Related Articles:

Locking and Unlocking Files
Web Folders on Windows XP
Web Folders on Windows Vista or Windows 7
Web Folders on Mac OSX

Was this article helpful?       
2 out of 2 found this helpful


Have more questions? Submit a request